top of page
  • Writer's pictureJamie Seitz

What the Actual Hell is Jamie up to? Playlist edition

Writing Facts


Before I start writing on any new project, I make a playlist of music to listen to while I'm writing. It might be music that one of the characters might listen to on the regular, or a mix of songs that puts me in a particular mood I want to be in to write that thing. Whatevs. It's what I do. In fact, I'm going to toot my own horn and say I'm pretty damn good at it. I was an excellent mixed tape maker in my teen years. Scott has an impressive collection of mixed CDs that he would get from me in his stocking every Christmas that I would personally curate from music that made me think of him all year long. And our family road trip playlists are some of the best around.




So, of course, there was a playlist for Jenny With A Why. But I wrote that book like 6 years ago, and my playlist was on Amazon music. But just for you guys...I've recreated it, song for song, on Spotify. Wasn't that lovely of me? What a gift, amiright? I've made it public so you can follow it, like it, and jam to it in your car while you get groceries, run errands, take your kids to school, scoop the loop, go cruising, etc.


Another fun fact...


Until this book had a title, it was titled 1989; the year I was 11 years old, and about how old Jenny is in the book. These are the songs that were some of my faves around that year and, honestly, take me right back to waiting patiently beside my boom box to tape some of these gems right off the radio. Thank God for Casey Kasem and American Top 40.

Here's my gift for you.



Enjoy! Share the link with your friends! Share my author page! And share my upcoming book, Jenny With a Why, out in 2024!

Feel free to leave a comment below and let me know what your faves are on the playlist! And please be sure to Subscribe to keep up to date on all updates on books, projects, and events.

14 views0 comments
bottom of page